A Rambling Rock Gathers No Moss

I move frequently.  Military brat sort of frequently.  And, unlike most folks, I love it desperately.  Right now, my family is collectively in the process of three moves: one for my parents into a new house precisely 2 miles from their previous home, one for my baby brother out of their household and across town, and one for me, also out of their household and across the coast (maybe now I can finally unpack all of the boxes that escaped disgorgement after college).

The process generally results in a load of sleepless nights, high tempers and a significant lack of artistic endeavour (partly because everything’s packed and partly because it requires too much space to make a mess).  But this time round–perhaps because I got to spend a week making art in New Mexico–I have actually managed to squeeze out a few items of interest.  More to be added later, when my phone cable decides to cooperate.

To view the items being sprayed with fixative, visit this post and this post.

IMG_3375

Okay, so this isn’t art production, strictly. But all of the work I’m taking with me to NC is now sprayed with fixative.

IMG_3370

Move-inspired sketching: bumbling around in a dark hallway filled with boxes induces injury

Leave a comment